SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award – Call for nominations

The SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award is given for outstanding achievements within the field of carbon capture, transport and storage (CCS). Achievements can be within the areas:

  • Scientific contributions and breakthroughs
  • Novel schemes for CCS
  • Increased knowledge and dissemination of CCS
  • Promotion and initiation of CCS for pilot, demo and full scale

Provided worthy candidates, the award is given every second year in connection with The Trondheim Conference on CO2 Capture, Transport and Storage. This is an award for outstanding CCS achievements in general – not a “best paper award”. Anyone can nominate one or more candidates. Especially, staff members at SINTEF and NTNU are encouraged to submit nominations. Both Norwegian and international candidates are equally eligible for nomination.

Gary T. Rochelle, University of Texas at Austin, winner of the 2015 CCS Award
Gary T. Rochelle, University of Texas at Austin, winner of the 2015 CCS Award

Criteria for the award:

  • The award is given to an individual
  • The contribution of the nominee shall be of excellence and international acknowledgement according to the above designated areas
  • The candidate shall have played a key role in the contribution or achievement
  • The achievement should be of relevance to research activities at SINTEF and NTNU in a particular and/or a broader context

Award instruments:

  • Stipend of NOK 25,000
  • A plaque
  • Free participation at the next TCCS Conference

The awardee will be asked to give a 20 minute Award Winner’s Lecture at the TCCS-9 Conference, on a self-decided CCS topic. The next SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award will be given in June 2017, at the TCCS-9. Deadline for nominations is April 15, 2017. More information and nomination form can be found on the Conference website. You may also contact Dr. Nils Anders Røkke, Executive Vice President Sustainability, SINTEF.

Previous winners:

2016 Tore Torp, Retired Statoil
2016 Tore Torp, Retired Statoil
2011 Erik Lindeberg, SINTEF
2011 Erik Lindeberg, SINTEF

Conference secretariat:

An Hilmo,

Conference organizer:


For more information on submission of abstracts, template etc., please see the TCCS-9 website

Blog: Call for abstracts


0 comments on “SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award – Call for nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *